Song of the day: The Killers - Mr Brightside

So, this is my first full week of school! It's been pretty good so far. Except my Human Geo class hasn't been super great, but oh well. I loved my geometry teacher two years ago, and I have her again for precalc. Weirdly, she kinda sounds like an older version of Vi Hart, who is my favourite math-related YouTuber. I survived my first Human Geo block today, though I was a bit late returning fro our five-minute break. But me and my group did get locked out, so there was an excuse.

And good Heavens, it has been hot! The high today was 36, but there was a heat index on top of that! It seems we're in a perpetual wave of hot, humid, sunny weather. I just pray that we'll be back to nice, cool, rainy weather for a while as soon as possible! It's been near unbearable. I don't know how people in tropical climates can stand it!

Also, Verivery's new comeback is out! All four tracks are so good! I bought it on Amazon and it's only due to arrive next month, so I'll do a full review of it then. I bought the Reality version, mainly because the poster 1) is the only one they didn't post online and 2) just looks so great. So far, my favourite song is Prom! It reminds me of the b-sides from Veri-us and Veri-able, which are probably my two favourite mini-albums by Verivery. I crave the day when Verivery will come back with a bright concept! The entire Veri series was so underappreciated.

Also, back to school. We didn't do any creative writing last year, just essays, so I was super excited when our teacher told us that we'll be doing a narrative for our first bit of writing! Also, one of the first things that we told to our new English teacher was that a ton of my grade are gay. We're seriously disproportionate, I'd guess that of the 15 or so people in my grade, half are LGBT.

But yeah, that's all I have to talk about now, so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



Song of the day: Cascada - Everytime We Touch

So, I've finally gotten to the finale of Reba. In fact, I'm watching it as we speak. I mean, I've been watching it for maybe a week, but somehow, I've gotten really attached to the characters. Honestly, I really feel like it deserved way more than six seasons! I have a real tendency to cry during the finales of most of my favourite shows. I think my record so far is when I watched the finale of The Golden Girls. So yeah, we'll see how big the waterworks turn out.

Also, Verivery's new comeback comes out tomorrow! I'm so excited to listen to it, most of all Prom! It'll come out around 3 AM where I live, so I'll be able to listen to it before school tomorrow. I'd follow my recent tradition of buying new Verivery releases on iTunes, but I really want to buy the phhysical album, so as long as the price is decent, I think I'll get it with my Amazon credit.

Speaking of, I've been wanting to use some of that credit to buy a Kindle recently. I technically already have a hand-me-down Kindle Touch and Kindle Fire from my mother, but she won't let me sign into my account on them instead of hers because she has some games on both that she doesn't want to lose. It's rather merited on the Touch, as apparently you can't download its "active content" anymore, but I'm pretty sure all the games on the Fire are still available.

But yeah, that's all I have to talk about tonight (sorry it was so short, but this weekend has been rather uneventful), so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



Song of the day: Reba MacEntire - I'm A Survivor

So, it's been a big two days.

So first of all, I had a retreat yesterday. My whole high school (maybe 50 ot 60 people? Rough estimate) went down to some place with a lake and a ropes course. We drove 2 hours cramped into a school bus when they normally get us those fancy charter buses that are basically mini-airplanes on the ground, and they couldn't even fit us all there, so some people had to go in cars.

I elected to not go on the ropes course (climbing a huge pole on tiny ladder rungs and going on a tighrope is not my style, even with a harness and safety certifications.) We went to the lake in the afternoon, and swam around for a while before doing an obstacle course. One of the things was a huge inflatable slide that sends you barrelling into the lake at speeds just high enough to raise your heart rate. There was also a "lazy Susan", (Google it, I guess) that we tried to fit as many people as possible into.

Overall, I enjoyed most of it. Until it came time to leave. I got sunburnt on my arms, tough it's mostly gone by now. They also didn't give us bottles of water on the bus back, when most of us were parched. They gave us four little cups to split amongst us all. So I had to wait two hours before drinking anything, whilst also being tired. I spent most of the ride home staring out the window. Plus, on the way there, I somehow got a seat all to myself, but I had to share on the way back. Those things are meant for five-year=olds, not fifteen-year-olds.

Also, today was my first day of classes. My bio teacher had an inspirational weight loss story in his opening presentation. I think we might be related, since he has the same last name as my great-grandparents, so it makes sense that he's as eccentric as the rest of us. Also, the lunch was the saddest pizza I've seen. the crust was thinner than a friggin' saltine, and the slices were tiny and sad. My chocolate milk was also frozen into chocolate slush. At least there were cookies, though.

But yeah, that's all I have to talk about tonight, so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



Song of the day: Reba MacEntire - I'm A Survivor

So I've still been watching Reba quite a bit. In fact, I'm watching the season 4 premiere as I write this! Anyways, it's slowly become one of my new favourite shows! And honestly, by season four, Reba and Barbra Jean's relationship with each other is kind of adorable in an odd way?

Also, today was supply drop-off day at my school. My best friend came back to my school, but we missed each other by only ten minutes or so. One of the first things I found out was that my locker's open/closing mechanism is screwed up. Also, I was slightly dreading my French teacher, but not really? But last time I hade him, he was pretty strict. But according to my schedule, I actually have the French teacher I prefer, who I had last year.

Also, after that, my mum and I went to Target to get some bug spray for my retreat tomorrow, which turned into a mall shopping spree (naturally). I got about $80 worth of books at Barnes & Noble: Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, a royal biography (I'm an absolute sucker for royal biographies), and four Murder, She Wrote books. I also found the Murder, She Wrote DVD set with all four of the TV movies in the DVD section, but my mother, being my mother, checked on Amazon and it was cheaper there, so she didn't let me get it.

I also went to my favourite CD store to see if it was open, and it was! I actually got to go there and browse for the first time in ages. Though, it was mostly because I had looked on their website beforehand to see if they had a CD I wanted, and they had it in stock at my location. And I was famished by the time we got there, because it was our last stop on our school-drop-off-and-mall-shopping-spree extravaganza, so I didn't browse for long. But I saw my favourite shaved ice truck outside Target as we were walking through, so we stopped there for a quick pre-lunch before I got some McDonald's on the way home.

Also, I had a dentist's appointment at 3:00 today which went great! No cavities, and less plaque than last time! Also, I got a picture of my schedule, so I should be missing an AP Human Geo block! Also, I think there's two new kids in my grade, so I want to get to know them tomorrow, or at least know who they are. Most of my fears of the retreat have been alleviated. I just hope it goes well! Especially since I have to wake up at unreasonable o'clock to get there on time. Ugh.

But that's all I have to talk about for now, so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



Song of the day: Tiffany - I Think We're Alone Now

So recently, I've been watching what may or may not be an unhealty amount of Reba. I saw it in my recommended area on Hulu and watched one episode, and promptly got kind of addicted. I think my favourite part is the sarcastic and snarky remarks. I think part of that is just because I wish I could be the master of sarcasm when people try me, kinda of like Dorothy Zbornak. Also, for some reason, I feel like I can kind of relate to the show in some way, even though my family is nothing like theirs. I've also watched a couple episodes of Blossom, and the fact that they got rid of the theme song for the last season really got on my nerves.

Also, I'm increasingly dreading school. I really hope the school won't let me go on the trip or my parents and I accidentally sleep in or something and I don't have to go.

Also, I'm sick of having flat hair. At least on the top of my head, my hair is sad and kinda flat, and I just want it to be more voluminous. I considered getting a perm for some reason, but apparently I have super fine hair and it doesn't work. According to my mum, curls don't work either. (Her mother once made her sleep in curlers and the curls still last ten minutes. Ugh.) At this point, I might just invest in a wig.

Also, I have a strange feeling that I wasted the summer and didn't do enough. I mean, I did most of my traditions (volunteering with a local group, doing some sort of art class, tie-dying some clothes with my mum), but it still feels empty. I guess that's probably because of COVID, and most everyone else is probably feeling the same.

But that's all I have to talk about for now, so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



Song of the day: True Vibe - Now And Forever

So I have had a tumultuous 24 hours. So first, you know the jewelry I was talking about last time? I'm (at least temporarily) keeping my jewelry in a container in the kitchen, next to the oven. So yesterday, I was putting my jewelry away when something (bracelet, maybe?) fell. I thought it slid underneath the oven, but we didn't see it when we took out the little drawer thing at the bottom. But there was also some pipe or something down there, so it might've been preventing us from seeing it. But either way, it's missing for now.

Speaking of missing, I also realized yesterday that I really, truly lost my calculator. I got a TI-84 Plus CE in 7th grade for Algebra I (it's required for all math classes at my school beyond Pre-Agebra). It cost probably at least $120, and I believe it was on sale at the Office Depot we went to. (Goodbye sweet Office Depot, gone but not forgotten)

Anyways, the last 36 hours, I've been worrying that I'd have to replace it, but this morning, crap hit the fan. We practically tore the living room apart searching. We stopped around lunchtime, but my mum looked a bit more tonight and found it in a tub of stuff. Hooray! Now I can play Snake in math cass instead of learning! Along the way, I also found a needlepoint of an emoji that I started in like 6th grade and never finished. So I suppose I should finish it before I graduate

Also, yesterday, I spent a good 30 minutes chatting with Apple Support. The function to search the iTunes Store in my Music app on my Mac doesn't work, and I actually got transferred between departments. It still doesn't work though. Oh well. I was really only using it to add songs to my wish-list anyways. For now, I just search songs up on my phone, add the album to my wishlist, then on my computer, I go to the iTunes store (which still works other than the search), add the song I wanted and remove the album.

But that's all I have to talk about for now, so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



Song of the day: New Kids On The Block - Step by Step

So I have had a very big day today. I've honestly even forgot what I did yesterday.

So first, when I woke up today, my radio alarm clock was playing Breathe by Faith Hill. (Yesterday, it played As Long As You Love Me by the Backstreet Boys!) So that was a great start to my day.

So then came the beginning of the main event of the day. If you all remember, a few weeks ago, I drove down to my mother's father's family reunion. Well, today, I went down with my mother to see my grandparents. We set out at around half past 9, after getting some stuff to bring to make lunch there. The reason we went was to pick up some of my mother's old model horses from her childhood, because my cousin is getting to the age where she might try to take some for herself.

We thought said cousin and her two brothers wouldn't be there. However, right as I was eating my lunch, they barged in. My eldest of those cousins was pretty calm (didn't run around as much as his little siblings), but the other two were rather rambunctious. The two elder siblings and my aunt eventually went to the pool, and my grandpa and uncle went to do something or other, leaving me, my grandma and my mum with the youngest one. Heavens to Betsy, can a toddler be energetic.

We managed to get all the horses boxed up and in the back of the car (there were like, six boxes!), plus we got some of my great-grandmother's old jewelry, as my grandma keeps the stuff she got from my great-grandma in a dresser-type thing in her garage. I also got to drive my grandpa's glorified golf cart around again for a few kilometres, and my uncle let me shift into high gear for the first time! (It only has two gears) I also watched MTV Classic for a while, and they showed a Backstreet Boys video

We left at four-ish to make it home by six, because I had a pizza dinner in the park with the group I volunteered with this summer. At my grandma's suggestion, we stopped along the way at this little drive-thru ice cream place off the highway. It looks kinda like an old gas station, and it was great! I got double chocolate chip ice cream that was super great! The only thing was that we had to cross two lanes of highway traffic going in the opposite direction, which was just ugh.

Meanwhile, on the way back, a storm starting a-comin'. Some of the clouds were really dark grey, and I could tell it was fixing to rain quite a bit, which was welcome for me as always, especially after the 36-degrees-and-sunny weather we had just endured. It got quite a bit cooler on the drive home, to the point where I actually shivered when the AC was on for too long. I think the weather's finally getting bearable!!

It also started raining, so we didn't know if my pizza thing would be cancelled since my mum doesn't have her main e-mail on her phone, so we just got to the park to see. Even that was a struggle, though, as two traffic lights were out. But there were two other families there, and we got some pizza and chips and guac there, as well as some pizza and cookies to-go.

So that brings us up to now, the night of a long, long day. But that's all I have to talk about for now, so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



Song of the day: BTS - Permission to Dance

So quite a bit has happened in the last two days! So yesterday morning, I went to Target with my mother. We only needed a notebook, but I came away with concealer (this one matches my skin tone! Yay!). I also saw a BTS album (their new Japanese greatest hits album) in the CD section, and we got that as well. I checked to see whether the CD store at the same mall was open both at the beginning and end of our visit, and both times it was closed. It didn't have hours posted, but I think it's been opening at like noon. I also got Starbucks, which was cool.

Also, we went to the fabric store this morning to get fabric for some new masks for me. I picked out some cool 80s-inspired designs, as well as one that's purple and one that's pink. I'm looking forward to them!

Also, for some odd reason, I've decided to start doing some of those Jazzercise tapes from the 80s. The full things are almost an hour, so I don't have the energy to do all of the segments. Instead, I just do one or two of them. Honestly, it's kind of uplifting! I don't really like excercise, but the woman who hosts the tapes (who I think is the creator of Jazzercise) is really encouraging and it's kind of fun!

Also, this morning it finally rained! Technically, it rained a bit the other night at around 11, after we had that rain-going-north thing I told you about in my last blog post. But today was the first time where I've been awake to see it and it's been light outside so I can see it. There's still a freaking heat advisory, though, which is annoying.

But yeah, that's all I have to talk about for now, so I'll talk to you all next time. Bye!



<-- Newer posts -- Older posts -->