Song of the day: The Ark - The Light

Happy Halloween to thos of y'all who celebrate it! As I write this, I'm in my costume (Jessica Fletcher: I m wearing a trenchcoat, as well as a little scarf tied around my head à la generic grandma. Isn't that a generic grandma thing? I feel like it kind of is, I don't know.) on my laptop, waiting for the children to come trick-or-treat. So far, two groups of five kids each have come through, and as the second was leaving, the ringleader said "Goodbye, you're a nice person!" which I got a kick out of.

Anyways, I'm going to have a sandwich for dinner for the first time in a while! I wanted to have one yesterday, but we didn't have any of the bread I like, and the turkey and cheese had gone off, so we bought some more today. Anyways, overall, my day hasn't been too eventful, thankfully, and it's another four-day week! And autumn break is under three weeks, away, so I'll just have to power through, I guess.

Also, I don't know if I've talked about this here before, but there's this guy (I'm not gonna say his name for obvious reasons) that goes to my school that I have a crush on, and I noticed today that sometimes I kinda get all swoony (I guess that's the best way to describe it) when I see him, so I hope nobody notices, especially not him! But then again, part of me hopes he notices, in the (very unlikely) case that he likes me back. So yeah, we'll see how that goes. :)

Anyways, that's all that I'm going to talk about tonight, since it's been a rather boring day. I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: Sunny & Rooftop House Studio - Heart Throbbing

It's raining once again today! I took a walk in the rain this evening, and it was really quite lovely. :) However, I did spend quite a bit of the day doing homework, which was most unfortunate. Seriously, why the heck do we have so much weekend homework? The good news is that the first draft of my essay is almost done: I only have the conclusion left to write, and I think I can get away with doing that tomorrow, since we have to have our draft for our peer review on Tuesday. So I'm going to do some research on ABBA for my rock n roll class, and then I'll have the rest of the evening free!

Anyways, beyond that, there was a little art festival somewhat nearby today! There's normally one every year in the general area, but the last two years it was cancelled because of COVID. Anyways, last time it was in some sort of mall (though the mall was pretty sad compared to the big mall in my city), but today it was in the Knights of Columbus hall, where my cousin's wedding was a couple months back. My mother and I perused it for a while, and I got a total of two things: a little magnet for 50 cents, and a cute hat for $25!

I have a pretty big head (you can thank my genetics for that) so it's pretty rare that I find a hat that fits me, but this is a cute knitted hat in Christmas colours (honestly, even though it's not even Halloween, I've already skipped to being in the Christmas spirit) as well! And it's one of those ones that supposed to sag a little, and I think I actually look cute in it! And we bought it from this sweet Ukrainian lady, who seems like a super nice person. So yeah, I love this new hat! See a picture below. :)

Anyways, I was going to have a sandwich for dinner but 1) we didn't get any French bread with the groceries and 2) the turkey and cheese had gone off, so I couldn't make a sandwich with the sad sandwich bread. Oh well.

Anyways, that's all that I'm going to talk about tonight. I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: Blity - Thump Thump

So I'm having another little kerfuffle with iCloud Drive right now, since it's one again being finicky and refusing to completely upload a file from my iMac. Ugh. Speaking of iMac, my mother found an iMac at a garage sale the other day! But 1) someone got to it before she did, 2) they couldn't find the power cord and 3) nobody knew that it worked anyways. So yeah, that sucks, I guess.

Anyways, the iCloud is maybe part of the Internet connection being twitchy for me recently. It's probably all a symptom of using freaking CenturyLink as our ISP. And the power blipped randomly this morning. It was right when I was listening to some H.O.T., and I had to restart my iMac, which was annoying because I had to reopen all the crap I always have open. But I ended up having a dance party around the living room for a while. Anyways, my dad and I had some pizza for lunch, and I putzed around and did homework for most of the afternoon. And then this evening, I decided to do something weird I've wanted to do for a long time: go and use my laptop whilst lounging around in the backyard! I felt like I was in an old Windows XP ad. See for yourself here!

Anyways, that's about it for tonight. I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: Verivery - Ring Ring Ring

So as I'm writing this, I'm sitting on the couch, feeling a bit like a beached whale. That's right, I had pasta for dinner! I had some scrumptious chicken alfredo, and some peas to go along with it. And that was the best end to a long, meh day. The day, for the most part, dragged on, and I scored pretty poorly on my weekly Latin vocab quiz, though, to be fair, my Latin teacher said that it was "a bad quiz for some of y'all" or something like that. She was probably specifically referring to me and a friend of mine who also did pretty poorly, but I don't know. Anyways, thankfully, she lets us retake quizzes, so I'll be doing that!

Anyways, the rest of the day was pretty boring. I got some work done on my English essay and other stuff, so I don't have a tonne of work to do going into the weekend, so that's good, I guess. And then, for our community time, we had meetings of our houses to decide what we're going to do for our house service activities on our big reading/volunteering type day, which is always the last day before Thanksgiving. They changed the name this year for some reason, which I don't get but oh well. Anyways, we decided to make Christmas ornaments and card for the elderly, and to have the middle schoolers clean up the school.

Anyways, afterwards came another one of the many embarrassing incidents of my life! There was a little contest set up outside of the nurse's office to guess names for the house mascots and, without reading the rules, my best friends and I each submitted like three guesses. The security guard lady, who's pretty chill, came over and asked how many guesses there were for her house. We suggested submitting a joke guess, but then she pointed out that the rules said one guess per person (in large print, no less, though, to be fair, it was in a hard to see colour), so we laughed it off or whatever, and I was weirdly guilty for a while, even though it probably won't have any effect on who wins, and it took my mum pointing out that it wans't even illegal, so why should I be guilty, for me to feel better.

Anyways, that's about it. I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!

PS: I forgot to mention that I gave an announcement with my guy best friend for the club we're in at the assembly today! And then we couldn't get back to our seats afterwards, so we stood along the side with the teachers, and with my outfit and my hairstyle, I felt like an English teacher! So yeah, that was fun. Talk to y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: GFRIEND - Glass Bead

So somehow, my essay writing is really going well! Or at least I think so so far. I feel like I'm kind of on a roll! I mean, I already have almost two pages, and I've only been writing for a day, and I keep having ideas for new paragraphs pop into my head! I pretty much had to force myself to come here and write my blog post. Somehow, once you get started, writing an essay can be lots of fun!

But you know what's not fun? iCloud Drive. You can probably expect a rant on my Opinions page shortly, but long story short, I had a document I was working on last night on my iMac that didn't properly sync to iCloud, so when I went to work on it during class today at school on my MacBook, it wasn't properly there. So I had to fiddle around with my iMac when I got home, and eventually a restart fixed it. But still, that was pretty dang annoying.

But beyond that, it's been yet another pretty boring day. It's still sunny, though thankfully it got nice and cloudy this afternoon, and the school lunch was basically a slightly worse version of fettucine alfredo. And we got to see pictures of my French teacher's cat that she has back in France! He's absolutely adorable! So that pretty much made my day, even if I did have some technical difficulties.

Anyways, that's pretty much all of today. I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: DIA - Can't Stop (E905)

Today has been pretty boring so far. I've done quite a bit of work, and actually, the only homework I really have tonight is to work on my English annotated bibliography, and I've done enough of that, I think, especially since tomorrow we have a work day in class, and the bibliography is due "any time tomorrow". But I may add a little more if I feel like it.

Anyways, during my French class, we learned a little about French social security, and also learned that their electric bills over by there are ridiculously low. There was an informational meeting for the yearbook club after school, which I attended. It was due to start at 3:45, and there was nobody in the classroom when I popped by at 3:35, so I walked around the school for a while until I saw someone else who was doing the same waiting for the meeting to start. In all, four of us showed up, though some people didn't come but were still interested in the club. We just went over the basic stuff we have to do at the very surface level, but it seems interesting! And beyond that, I've not really done much today. Yeah, I'm boring. Anyways, here's a little video, and I'll see all y'all later!



Song of the day: Hyoyeon from Girls' Generation - Second (feat. Bibi)

So once again, it's been rainy all day! There was also some pretty fierce wind around midday, and a brief pause in the rain about then, but thankfully, it soon picked back up. So it's been lovely all day! :) I feel kind of weird/wrong about it, but I love the rain and I'm much happier in the rain compared to the sun. I don't know why. Anyways, the inspection people are gone after today. Someone (who I think is actually from a different organization? I don't know) came in to inspect my calculus class today, and one of my best friends got interrogated or whatever by one of the inspectors, but other than that, they haven't really intruded on my learning or anything.

Also, apparently there was some random dude off the street who got let into our school this morning? Some student let him in, for some reason. And apparently he has a record of being arrested for violent crime. So yeah, they talked to us and told us not to let random people in off the street. Anyways, I've gotten some inspiration to start writing again, so I hope that goes well! :) And I forgot to tell all y'all yesterday that we got peanut M&Ms in calculus to illustrate the chain rule (and also listened to Chain of Fools by Aretha Franklin), and one of my classmates decided to shell the M&Ms to take the peanuts out. Yeah. Anyways, that's my day. Good night, and I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: Verivery - Our Spring

So, unlike most Mondays, today hasn't been bad - in fact, one might even say that it's been a pretty good day! It's been cloudy all day, and started raining at some point during the late morning or early afternoon. I got a 39 out of 40 on my psychology test, so there was no need to worry! And I thankfully didn't have too much homework to do tonight, and I got all of it (except studying for my English quiz) done in my study hall, so I can just relax and study all evening!

And speaking of study hall, our school has some team or other inspecting it today and tomorrow, so the library was closed off and I couldn't do my study hall or my independent psychology period in there. I did both in the hallway outside, but we were evicted at some point because some people were being noisy. (My guy best friend and I - my two other best friends were otherwise occupied - were not.) And there was a kind of awkward moment at lunch, because these two girls I don't know asked me for my pronouns, and since I'm closeted, I had to say "he/him" instead of "she/her". And it was even more awkward because my guy best friend and my girl best friend - the only two people I know in real life that I'm out to - were there. So yeah, that gave me some good ol' dysphoria.

Anyways, my family dinner last night went pretty well. Though a bunch of my family talked about their various health issues and medications for a while, which was pretty odd. Anyways, we came home with some leftover chocolate cake 0 woot woot! And when we were going out to the car, it was all dark out (especially dark, since my grandparents live a few minutes out of town) and really windy, so there was a really nice, slightly eerie feeling to it all. Anyways, right now I'm listening to my song of the day as it rains outside and I'm sitting on the couch on my MacBook. So yeah, life's pretty sweet. I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow! :)



Song of the day: BEBE6 - Promise You

So tomorrow it'll once again be nice and cool! Thank God! And as I was out on my walk a few minutes ago, it started getting cloudy. I took quite a nice photo of the sun peeking out from behind the clouds that I might post on my gallery page soon. Anyways, other than that, it's been mostly homework once again, with some more Sims-ing this morning. Seriously, I have way too much homework this weekend! And the better part of a month until my autumn break, so that really sucks. Seriously, now I know why they call junior year the most stressful year of your high school career!

Anyways, that's pretty much all that I've done today. Church this morning was a bit chaotic, since we had a guest student pastor do the sermon and whoever does the bulletins forgot to print part of one of the hymns, and that was just about the most exciting part of the day so far. And this evening, my parents and I are going to go to my grandparents' for one of the monthly birthday dinners that we have, so we'll see how that goes. Anyways, I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: Produce48 - Naekkoya (Pick Me)

Today's been pretty boring, once again. What can I say? I have quite the average life in many ways, and my life is, for the most part, devoid of excitement. I spent a few hours in the morning playing The Sims in order to live vicariously, and my Sim got married and the happy couple seem intent to automatically antagonize pretty much everyone they speak with as soon as I'm not paying attention. But oh well. This afternoon, my father and I went shopping at one of my mother's favourite store for a birthday gift. Her birthday was actually last weekend, and we were supposed to go shopping then, but we never got around to it, because my dad spent the weekend watching YouTube on the TV. So yeah, I got a card and a horse puzzle.

Other than that, I've pretty much spent my day doing some homework. I won't have much to do tomorrow, only psych notes and studying for an English vocab quiz, but still, I'd rather not have much weekend homework in the first place. We had ham and beans and cornbread for dinner, and the margarine we put on the cornbread reminded me of this clip from the new Don't Hug Me I'm Scared. Enjoy, and I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: Girls' Generation - Mr Taxi

So today has, once again, been a rather boring day, I suppose. There were only two actual exciting things. The first was the assembly this morning, where my principal gave a presentation about being passive vs assertive vs agressive, and how to be assertive without being agressive, and that kind of stuff. This was followed by some skits demonstrating the different approaches involving teachers and staff (one involved the photographer whose name I don't know being afraid of pool noodles, which some woman, whose name I know, though I have no clue what she does, was piling on to him). My English teacher wasn't present, so I got to stand in for her in a skit where she consoled my calculus teacher, who was upset with the principal. I think I deserve an Oscar for my outstanding performance, but unfortunately, that bloody Academy will probably snub me again.

I also had my psychology test today! Although I was pretty nervous going into it, as my post from yesterday can attest, I think I did pretty decent, given that there were only one or two questions that tripped me up and I studied hard pretty much all week. So given that, plus my average score on the previous psych tests (quite satisfactory, if I do say so myself), I think and hope that I did well. During our community focus time, we had a speaker in from some rural organization that fights factory farms or something, which was pretty interesting. And the speaker played the mandolin at the end. So yeah, that's pretty much my day. I'll yalk to y'all later!



Song of the day: Verivery - From Now

So today has also been a pretty boring day, overall. This morning, we played a new Gimkit (think Kahoot but better) mode where you farm, and then in AP Language we discussed a chapter that I forgot to read. I studied some more in AP Psych after that, and even though I've been studying almost all week and my friends are only really starting to study tonight, I still don't feel super confident. I mentioned that to my girl best friend, and she pointed out that it's probably because I'm taking it self-study, so I don't have the benefit of class discussions. And speaking of psych, I have some notes that I keep forgetting to turn in that I really need to submit! So I'll set a reminded to do that tomorrow.

Anyways, after lunch, we had a French block, and watched some TV episode of a French language-learning sitcom called Extra. We'd watched the first episode at the beginning of the year, but only not watched the second. Either I blacked out completely during French class or she didn't mention it, but apparently it was on Google Classroom! Thankfully, I decided to watch multiple episodes because I love French and I love sitcoms. Also, my French teacher recommended a French author named Guillaime Musso to me, who's apparently really popular in France! And then in Rock 'n' Roll, we finished that documentary about Rush, and I found out some gossip, though I don't think it'd be prudent to reveal it here at the moment. But yeah, that's my day. Like I said, pretty boring. I'll talk to all y'all tomorrow, so goodnight for now!



Song of the day: Wonho - Don't Regret

So today's been pretty boring. I've had to study a lot for my psych! And in my French class today, we talked about grades and did a little games of charades. In calculus, we learned some annoying new concept, and then in chemistry we talked about pee and poo, and my teacher talked about how my guy best friend's been out sick for too long this week. I got quite a bit of work done in study hall, and sat around tonight. I'm pretty bummed out that it's going to get hotter tomorrow, so I won't be able to be cozy anymore! But yadda yadda yadda. I do quite want a boyfriend, and also I've been having some lovely invasive thoughts that I have to deal with, but other than that, it's been quite boring. So yeah, talk to all y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: SISTAR - Shake It

So today was the ACT! Since I'm a law-abiding citizen (or, more accurately, a goodie-two-shoes who doesn't want to publicly disobey the little ACT statement I signed), I won't talk about the test questions or anything, and I'll just say that I was confident on the English and writing, the science wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, and I'm not very confident about the math since I almost ran out of time and had to guess on some. But yeah, that was a stressful morning. I feel like I was a little overconfident going into it, but such is life. And I have plenty of time to retake it if I'm unsatisfied with my first score. Apparently, my parents both took it multiple times and did well, so I hope that doing-well thing is genetic or whatever.

Anyways, I had a block of AP Language in the afternoon, and we discusssed some of the book we're reading, and did a little exercise where we got to see how tiny the vans they live in in Nomadland (that's what we're reading, if I haven't mentioned it here before) are, and my teacher got mad because some people were making jokes about living in vans or whatever. It was kind of a confusing time. And then in History of Rock, our teacher made us watch a documentary about this band Rush that's she's super obsessed with. It was kinda interesting, and though their music isn't my kind of music (though to be fair, the closest thing to rock 'n' roll I like is pop-rock), they seem like quite nice people.

And then I came home, and after my walk, I changed into my pyjamas and lounged around on the couch, surfing the Web and watching Murder, She Wrote! It was super cozy! And I completely forgot that it was Tuesday and not Monday. Also, I've realized I might be the only person who really likes music and loves listening to music, and doesn't listen to classic rock. But yeah, that's my day. How was your day? I feel like I don't ask that enough. This should be a dialogue, instead of me rambling to a brick wall. Anyways, I should probably, y'know, go to bed. Good night, I'll talk to y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: DIA - Mr Potter

And we're back to the five-day school weeks. Ugh. I have the ACT tomorrow, which is annoying, I guess? I don't know. Anyways, somehow, I got almost all of my homework that I had for tonight done in my study hall today, except for some psych notes. (We have a psych test Friday, so I also have to start studying.) I mean, seriously, in an hour and fifteen minutes, I did my calculus assignment, my chemistry reading and my AP Lang reading! That's a lot of work, people! And I did this all whilst chit-chatting with my best friend! So yeah, this is a pretty big achievement for me.

Okay, to be fair, I only skimmed the chemistry, since reading it in deeper detail wouldn't really make it make much more sense, but I read it (putting on the "primer" in my teacher's oft-repeated analogy), so I think that's enough. And I got my psych notes done, so that's that knocked off the list. Now I'm going to spend pretty much the rest of the week studying for the test. Anyways, besides that I've had a pretty normal day. Besides the fact that in French class, my teacher went over our presentations from last week and pointed out every grammatical error in the slideshow. And given that I'm known for being good at French, it kinda made me cringe when she pointed out all the errors in mine, though to be fair, a good deal of those are from Google autocorrect, which is not the best at French.

And despite the fact that I don't plan to replace my 2019 MacBook Air for at least another two years, when I go to university, I'm already window shopping for an M2 MacBook Air. (Pun intended.) But yeah, I've been considering what colour I'd like best. I've already ruled out space grey, since that's just not my style and it's just not as pretty to me. I considered the starlight, but I think it'd be better if I had a somewhat more neutral colour, especially since I intend to adorn it with stickers and stuff. Y'know, let my inner white girl show. Which makes sense, since I am a white girl.

So that brings it down to midnight and silver. The silver seems a bit stale on one hand, but on the other hand it's tried-and-true. The midnight is pretty at first glance, but it kind of loses its allure, and the silver seems more fitted to my brighter colour preferences, and goes well with the silver iPod classic I plan to eventually buy, maybe once my iTunes library exceeds the capacity of my 16GB nano. I do prefer the silver classic over the graphite version, since again, I am a brighter person, and I feel that silver would go well with the brighter stickers I plan to put on the MacBook, and maybe one or two on the iPod. (I've seen iPods on Pinterest with a few little pastel stickers and it looks so cute!)

But I'm also considering whether I'll even need to upgrade my laptop in two years. I figure I might as well, since the Apple silicon ones are much more powerful than the Intel ones and will probably be even more futureproof, but I don't know. We'll see. I don't know if the Apple silicon is going to lead to Apple being more likely to try planned obsolesence with their Macs, but I kinda doubt that. And considering that my iPad 2, if it was running a more up-to-date version of iOS, and if I hadn't recently retired it since basically all iOS 6 can do anymore is watch YouTube and read e-mail, could still probably handle basic everyday tasks, I doubt that the M2 MacBook Air (or M3 or M4 or whatever is out when I go to university) won't still be able to put up with my admittedly light workload the better part of a decade after I buy it.

But anyways, here ends my rambling about upgrading my MacBook. I think my iMac will probably also last me a good few more years as well before I replace or retire it. Anyways, that's all for this blog post. I'll talk to all y'all next time!



Song of the day: Sara Evans - Slow Me Down

So today was my mother's birthday! So tonight, we went out to Cracker Barrel for dinner. Whilst we were waiting for our table, I saw this really cute guy in a camo hoodie (I know, a lot of y'all probably don't like that kind of guy, but I do for some reason!) and I tried smiling at him, but sadly, I don't think he noticed me. Anyways, I'm 99.9% sure the waitress ma'amed me (yay!! :D) but I was listening to my iPod so I'm not sure. And then unlike pretty much every time I've ever been to Cracker Barrel, I didn't overeat and give myself a stomachache! And the food was yummy (I got chicken and dumplings wiwth mac and cheese and carrots on the side) and we came home with plenty of leftovers. Also, they spelt our last name horribly wrong, but that's par for the course.

Anyways, I walked for quite a while today! So that was cool. And I got pretty much all my homework (besides my AP Lang reading, which I'll do tomorrow morning, I guess) done before church, and my laundry done by about 3:00! How was I so freaking productive so early in the day? Anyways, that's my day today. Talk to y'all tomorrow!



Song of the day: Patti LaBelle - New Attitude

So this morning, once again, I braved the cold to go to a nearby yard sale! My mum and I drove over, and then I stood outside in the bitter cold, and ended up buying two scarves. The whole sale smelled quite like cigarette smoke, and there was a selection of what I'm pretty sure was underwear just sitting out on a table, which was weird. And a One Direction lunchbox, which I sadly didn't get, plus a microwave, a very odd assortment of books, and a bunch of other crap. The only guy cashiering was some apathetic-looking older guy, and given that it was mostly women's stuff, I headcanoned that he divorced his wife and decided to sell off her stuff for money.

Anyways, I bought two scarves for $1.25, and then my mum went off to the library to work on the book sale whilst I walked home (voluntarily, she didn't abandon me in the cold). I then faffed around until 12:30, when my dad and I picked up my guy best friend. My dad dropped us off at the library, where we cashiered for two hours at their book sale. It was really fun! And my guy best friend gave me a gift, including, amongst other things, perfume samples and a scrunchy. We got some treats that they gave the volunteers, and then that was that! At home, I faffed about, and explored my neighbourhood some more. I also did some psych homework, and that's my day!

Also, I've felt quite a bit like it's 2012 or so today, for some reason. It's pretty cool! And I suddenly quite want an iPod classic, even though I already have my iPod nano, which, for now, can hold my iTunes library, or at least the music and some podcast episodes and a couple videos. Anyways, need to fold some laundry tomorrow, and do a bit more psych, but other than that, it'll be a nice, fun day! So yeah. Bye for now!



Song of the day: Miss A - Bad Girl Good Girl

I think the cold has just about let up! I haven't needed any cold pills today, and the only sympton left is a bit of a cough. So that's lovely, of course!

But anyways, on to the meat of the post: parent/teacher conferences day! Or rather, student-led conferences day. If you've read my blog for a while or have read back through the archives, then you may remember that last time we had parent/teacher conferences, the principal made students lead, and that continued this year. Anyways, my dad and I went for lunch at a local pizza joint, that does pizza-by-the-slice for lunch. We both ordered two slices, but I finished one and barely cracked into the other, because seriously, these were concerningly large. Anyways, afterwards, we took a bunch of crushed aluminium cans (seriously, my dad drinks so much soda we have a little can crusher contraption and had bags and bags of them in the garage) off to some recycling plant, where we sold them for the aluminium. We got about $30, which isn't bad!

Anyways, afterwards we headed off to the school for conferences. First, we talked with my English teacher, and my dad interrogated her about FRQs and stuff. According to her, I'm a good writer who gets straight to the point! Have her read this blog (and especially my diary) and then see what she says... Anyways, then, we had a 15-minute break (more like 10 minutes, since we got out late) before talking to my chem teacher, who got out of his previous conference five minutes late. I just remember him rambling on about an addition my school is going to build eventually, and my dad interrogating him about safety. Then came my psych teacher, who said that I'm doing really well and gave me some worksheets to do this weekend. Then came calculus, where the teacher said I'm doing well and my dad flaunted his math minor and all the math classes he took in university.

Then, my mother showed up (she'd just gotten off work) and we headed to my French conference. Apparently, in my level of French, I was the only one who got an A! But anyways, she suggested some ways for me to augment my French outside of the classroom. And then we went to my Latin teacher's room, where I got to sit in the fancy chair and we chatted about what's to come in Latin class, as I'm already doing pretty well. Finally, we went to my History of Rock teacher's conference, where she raised the idea to me of, instead of doing the typical final project, making a presentation about the history of k-pop and teaching about that for a class period, which I think is a really cool idea! I'm sure I could probably fill a whole period with that, honestly.

Anyways, afterwards, we stopped off at the public library, where my mum helps with the book sales, to get ready for their upcoming sale this weekend. We dropped off a crap tonne of books from my school library and took some photos of the sale. Afterwards, on the way home, my mum decided to stop for onion rings for Dairy Queen just because. Anyways, that's my day! So yeah, I'm looking forward to the rest of whe weekend. Toodles!



Song of the day: Lorie - Près de moi

So I think I'm officially going to do daily blog posts again! So that's fun. Anyways, right now I'm sitting here at the public library, click-clackin' away at my 'puter, and it's the start of another three-day weekend! I have parent-teacher conferences tomorrow! Which, like last year, are student-led, because responsibility or whatever. I mean, I see why the principal implemented this, but I just really don't feel like it. I mean, it's not like there's much to confer about anyways, since I'm not a Problem Student or anything. But I'll do it anyways, and update all y'all on that tomorrow afternoon.

Anyways, today was a pretty mediocre day. I did a French presentation, and despite being pretty dang good at French, if I do say so myself, I absolutely bungled it. Probably because I did not rehearse. I probably should start doing that, but I've always got by fine without rehearsing Powerpoints in other classes, so maybe just French. Anyways, there was also a very heated discussion in English class about Amazon and stuff? It was very intimidating. So yeah, that's pretty much my day. The Horrid Cold finally seems to be on its way out, though I have a lingering cough, much to my annoyance. Apparently it's going around the school. Anyways, ta-ta for now!



Song of the day: CSR - Pop? Pop!

So the PSAT wasn't that bad, I guess. It sadly wasn't drafty, so it was kinda hot in my hoodie. :( And at one point, the proctor (the same teacher I had that awkward moment back in May - I think I blogged about that, so go a-huntin', I guess) looked at me and shook her head, though I think she was actually looking at this other person who tossed a book to another test-taker. I assume they were finished, so that's why she didn't intervene. Anyways, I didn't have very many questions where I blanked, so hopefully that's a good sign and I did better than last time!

And we get to take the ACT next week. Yay... Oh well. Anyways, we got out to "lunch" ("chicken taco bake" - not the cafeteria's best work, to say the least. My friends and I compared it to glop.) a few minutes early, and then had chem block. We did an experiment that I didn't really understand where we poured hydrochloric acid on metal, and then I accidentally got a tiny bit on my hoodie when I was cleaning some tubes out, so according to my chem teacher's advice, I quickly rinsed the arm off, so that turned out to not irritate my skin, so I guess it's safe.

And then I had study hall! I looked for my French teacher, but didn't find her, so I e-mailed her about how we were supposed to have a work day today, but then had the PSAT. I was scared she was mad at me for a while during our e-mail exchange, but I don't think she is. I don't really have any homework tonight - woot woot! So yeah, I've just been chilling out tonight. I went to the public library and sat in the basement for a while after school whilst my mum, who volunteers there with the local Friends of the Library, sorted books for some event they have coming up. So that was pretty cool.

And sadly, though it was rainy this morning, by the time we got let out of the Testing Chamber (the auditorium-that-doesn't-have-permanent-seats), it was sunny again. :( Oh well. At least it'll be quite cool tomorrow - hoodie weather once again! :D But now I've got to sign off, so until next time, I'm gonna blow this popsicle stand. Toodles!



Song of the day: Murder She Wrote theme (RIP Dame Lansbury!)

Two posts in the same day! It's been a while, eh?

So I'm also considering moving the blog part of my site to something else, so I don't have to fiddle around with the pages and all in order to write a post. But at the same time, this is the only part of the site I consistently update, at least every other day, so I'd kind of like to keep it here. Decisions, decisions.

Also, Dame Angela Lansbury from Murder, She Wrote passed away. Which really, really sucks, people. Seriously, in the past not-even-a-year, three famous people I seriously admire have passed away. I mean, they were all in their nineties, so it wasn't totally unexpected, but still, it really sucks! This has been a good year so far for me in terms of my personal life, but this just puts a tinge of sadness on this year. Let's just say I'm not going to be looking back on 2022 with undiluted happiness or anything like that.

But yeah, I should probably get started on my Christmas list, since my grandmas both like to have those by American Thanksgiving. I don't really know what to ask for. Maybe the rest of The Nanny on DVD, but other than that, maybe just iTunes gift cards, plus perhaps an Amazon gift card or two. I don't really need anything, and the stuff I want I only vaguely want and don't need. Since when was it so hard to come up with Christmas gifts? I remember when I was in primary school, I was writing letters to Santa asking for a bazillion things, including a copy of Windows 7 Ultimate. (I was an odd child.) But at least I'll hopefully have quite a bit of credit to buy some iTunes music with. My iTunes wish list is ever-growing.

Anyways, it's been really rainy all day, which is really nice! It's been so long since we've had these days. If only it'd've been cooler, and I could worn my hoodie to school! But oh well. I think tomorrow it might be cool enough to break out my hoodie again. Heaven knows the testing room for the PSAT (!) is going to be drafty. And then I'm taking the ACT next week, I believe, so that's going to be so fun. But anyways, I'm gonna go putz around and put off working on my psych, which is somehow the only homework I have today. Toodles!



Song of the day: Murder She Wrote theme (RIP Dame Lansbury!)

So I'm considering merging the thought page and blog? I don't know. But since I'm putting the thoughts into pages, I figure I kinda might as well, especially since it'd semi-revive the old spirit of the blog. I don't know. I might use the clickable format of this for the thoughts, and rename it to microblog.

Anyways, I'm sitting in my rock and roll class right now. We had a free day to work on the album review, which I finished and turned in, and somehow I don't really have any homework due tomorrow, so I worked on a project due Thursday. My partner apparently feels like I've been doing all the work, which I kinda have, so I feel bad. So I tried to hunt her down, since I know she has a study hall, but couldn't find her, so I'm sitting here. For some reason, the heat is on, so it's like a rockin', rollin' sauna. Oh well. Time to go home!



Song of the day: NCT Dream - Chewing Gum

So update on the mutant malady: I'm pretty sure now that it's just a cold, maybe with a touch of allergy on the side, as a little bonus treat. The sore throat has stopped, but the stuffy nose is still here, and I've started coughing up a lung once every minute or so unless I'm on my cold meds, in which case I only cough every few minutes. Yeah, it's not fun. Thankfully, the normal lifespan of a cold according. to the Web is "7-10 days", in which case, since I've had it since Wednesday or Thursday, I'd be half-ish of the way through.

Anyways, in keeping with the now constant theme in my life of having too much crap to do, I already have too much crap to do on Monday. Seriously, it never used to be this way last year! I only ever got burnt out around Wednesday or so. But I guess that's why they say junior year is the worst year of high school. I really hope it's the worst year, because otherwise I'm screwed. Apparently university is (naturally) quite a bit harder, but since I already go to a hard university prep school, I'm hoping and assuming that it won't be too much of a bump. And God willing, I won't have to work during the school year for university, only during the summer. That's already what I'm planning to do next year (I could not get all my schoolwork done if I had to work as well!) so we'll hope I can afford it. It'll also help if I don't go to an academically intensive university. I mean, ya girl is already not Ivy league material, but still. A not-hard but not-mediocre and not-no-name university will be just fine for me, thank you very much.

Anyways, I got my new CD drive today. It's slot-loading, compared to the old tray-loading, which is nice, I guess, though weird, and a little nerve-wracking. And since it plays better with my Mac, the eject key on my keyboard finally does something! Yeah, it doesn't take much to get me excited. And you have to stick the disc in a little further than I thought to get the mechanism to suck it up, so it's always very weird.

Also, my girl best friend got the M2 MacBook Air! She had the Google Pixelbook, but it crapped out, so her parents sprung for the M2 Air in Midnight blue, which a bunch of us (honestly, myself included) ogled at school today. Though after the "woaaah" wore off, it wasn't really that much different visually compared to mine. I knew that it was the same size, but I somehow expected it to be a centimetre or two bigger. It's really pretty, though! And definitely way faster than my good ol' Intel Macs. But my iMac is only four years old, and my MacBook Air is coming up on three years, so they both have life in them yet. I'll use the iMac at least until I go off to university, and probably for a bit after, and will probably replace the Air with a newer model when I enter university, so that new one will last me at least until graduation, and this current one will have lasted almost five years.

Meanwhile, I have a crap tonne of work to do tomorrow, so I'm going to retire early in hopes of relaxing enough to be ready tomorrow. Did I mention I have the PSAT Wednesday, and am missing my psych self-study block, but not my chem block? Ugh. And then parent-teacher conferences are Friday, and we don't have a break again until American Thanksgiving. Speaking of, for Canadian Thanksgiving today, we had chicken pot pie for dinner! Which was yummy. And it's going to rain!! :D

Anyways, that's about all for this time, since I shall go retire to my chambers like the lady of the house in a Victorian mansion. so I'll talk to all y'all next time. Toodle-oo!



Song of the day: NCT Dream - Chewing Gum

Today hasn't been particularly eventful so far, but I thought, just so I don't have a monster blog post tomorrow like I did yesterday, I'd post about today. On my walk today, which I took earlier than normal, I walked a few miles over to the cinema. I wore my hoodie, but it was just hot enough to where I had to take it off as it was uncomfortable.

One woman was walking her two dogs and let me pet them! Another woman let me try to pet her dog, but sadly, in continuing with my streak of dogs being rude to me, that dog yipped. But oh well. My mutant cold thingie is better right now, but I think that's the cold medicine.

Also, my DVD drive has officially been declared dead, without a doubt. I tried to look up the manufacturer's Web-site for a manual or something, but it was all in Chinese, so not gonna happen. And there wasn't anything anywhere close to a manual on the Amazon listing, so we bit the bullet and got an Apple USB Superdrive. It'll probably work better, since it was made for Macs, and it's from a name brand, not some sketchy Amazon company. So we'll see how that goes - hopefully better!

Also, I posted a video on YouTube yesterday. Here it is!

Anyways, that's about all for this time, so I'll talk to all y'all next time!



Song of the day: Kelly Clarkson - My Life Would Suck Without You

I'm having one of those foggy brain days. The past few days, I've been having what I think is an allergic reaction to something (my symptoms intensified yesterday when my mother, for some unknown reason - it was cold as balls outside! - opened a lot of windows in the house), but might also partially be because the air has been pretty dry the past few days, and it could also be a cold, or maybe some monster mutant freakzoid combination of the three. Anyways, my nose has been clogged as heck most of the time, making it hard to sleep well, so I've been pretty tired.

I also need to start getting in bed earlier. Towards the end of the last school year, I was getting in bed close to 12:30 most nights. How did I survive? Anyways, I pushed that forwards to ~10:30 over the summer, but took a while to get to sleep rather often, so I pushed it back to 11:00, which has been drifting back to 11:30 gradually, which is how I ended up going to bed at 12:30 back then. So note to self: when I say I'll log off the computer at 10:00 to start my bedtime routine (which normally involved writing in my diary and reading, hence the ~hour-long length), I should - wild idea, I know - actually log off at 10:00, not almost 10:30!

Anyways, my day off school yesterday (for the teacher to write mid-semester progress reports) was pretty fun, I guess. I did a buttload of work on my site, a tiny bit of homework, and actually watched TV for the first time in a while. I didn't watch Step by Step like I normally do when I pop the TV on these days - so, although I was lacking in the goofy, handsome, academically-dumb-as-rocks-yet-surprisingly-emotionally-intelligent guy department, it was a nice change to watch (or, more accurately, re-watch - I've watched them all the way through before) some Golden Girls and Reba, plus an episode of 7th Heaven that I half-paid attention to as I was working on something else. And I'm doing that again right now!

Also, my mother and I braved the cold this morning (it got below 0 degrees Celsius overnight!) to go to a garage sale nearby, a short walk from our house, before my mum left for work. Whenever I go to a garage sale, I hope to find an iPod there, or something of the sort, but have yet to. But oh well. I saw an iPod dock for pretty cheap, though I already have one, so I didn't get that, saw a few Pinterest mum aesthetic-looking signs I considered getting, and a portable DVD player for $4 (my CD/DVD player connected to my iMac is on the fritz presently; if I want to watch a DVD, I have to watch it on the TV, which is nearly always occupied by my dad, and if I want to rip a CD, I have to boot up my mum's Dell, because the old Windows XP laptop won't rip to any format other than Windows Media format with copy protection.) but we decided not to get the portable DVD player after all because we couldn't know whether it worked. We did get a nice jigsaw puzzle, though! I hope there'll be more garage sales in the neighbourhood soon!

Anyways, I need to listen to the Let It Be album by the Beatles for my history of rock class, since I have to do an album review by Thursday. I listened to most of it last night, but I was only halfway paying attention and also reading and also tired at the time, so I may just have to pretend I listened to it in-depth, when in reality I did the musical equivalent of skimming it. But that'll be one less thing on my list to annoy me, at least! It's pretty much the same story with some videos I had to watch for chemistry: I watched them, but I've been quite tired today since surprisingly (can you taste the sarcasm?), a clogged nose when I wake up in the middle of the night makes it rather hard to get comfortable and get back to sleep, so I don't know how much of the videos I'll remember Monday morning. But je crois que c'est la vie. (That's French for I think that c'est la vie.)

Anyways, that's about all that's been going on these last couple days. I'll talk to all y'all next time!



Song of the day: Pentatonix - Joyful, Joyful

And that brings this week to an end! We have tomorrow off for teachers to write progress reports. So far, I have all As! At least to my knowledge. And my French teacher finally posted grades today! After school, I went to the public library to work on homework whilst my mum had an appointment nearby, and I got live e-mail updates from Google Classroom as she posted and edited grades. In her words, she decided to "make them up". I don't know why, but oh well. And I did well on my French vocab test today! She said I did "outstanding", though I did make a couple errors. I think I did pretty well on the writing portion, where we had to use words related to our unit (the environment) in a paragraph.

Speaking of tests, my chem test was yesterday, and I got a 105%! Our chem teacher puts 22 questions on each test, but grade it out of 20, so the most we can get is a 110% if we get all the questions right, and I got one wrong! I was the second highest in the class, so I almost achieved the elusive "top gun" position. (One of my best friends, who is rather into Top Gun, got that position once recently.)

Also, we had a special assembly this morning where we got the little elementary schoolers sorted into our houses. The two seniors went around and asked everyone's names (including the high schoolers - I've been going to this school for over a decade, they should know my name!) and a strength that they would bring to the house. Naturally, I said "Hello, my name is [deadname], and I'm sarcastic." So yeah.

Anyways, that's about all that I'm going to talk about for tonight. I'll talk to y'all next time!



Song of the day: Jordan Sweeto - EviL Little Genius

And it's back into the school week. I got a 95% on my psych test, which was lovely! And then I got a 100% on my Latin test! But it's been pretty hectic. I had a calculus assignment to do tonight, which I got done. I have a chemistry test tomorrow, which I hope to do well on. He only told us about this yesterday. I'd normally insert some sarcastic remark, but I'm trying to be a better, more forgiving person recently in an attempt to be a better person and a better Christian. But enough with the faith talk. Anyways, I told a lovely pun in math today, which I'll now pop here:

Q: What do you call a paranormal mystery series about math?

A: The F(X) Files!

I'm pretty happy with that one. Anyways, I actually did the reading for my AP Lang class today, unlike yesterday when I totally forgot to do the articles we had to read. We're reading Nomadland right now. I forget who it's by, but so far it's a decent book. In my rock and roll class today, we talked a little more about Vietnam and all, and then watched a bunch of Woodstock footage, including a long performance by Carlos Santana and his band. No offence to him or those who like him, but it wasn't really my thing. Anyways, I waved at a couple cute boys on my walk today, but none of them took any notice of me. But oh well.

Anyways, it's already been a long week. I really hope it gets better!

Anyways, that's about all that I'm going to talk about for right now. I'll talk to y'all next time!



Song of the day: Cast of Sister Act 2: Back In The Habit - Joyful, Joyful

Happy October! It's Christian girl autumn, and y'all best bet that since I'm a Christian girl, I'm gonna be taking full advantage of that. It's also almost Halloween! I don't think I'm really gonna do anything for Halloween, though, unless I miraculously get a boyfriend in the next four weeks who asks me out to a costume party. Maybe I'll watch the pilot of Murder, She Wrote or something.

Anyways, I've actually had a pretty relaxing weekend! I barely had any homework to do, and only a dash of studying as well. I wanted to work more on my Web-site, but I don't have as many ideas these days, so I'm just going to wait for some magical insight to strike me. (See, I have learned something in AP self-study psychology!) Also, I saw this super cute guy on my walk yesterday, but when I waved at him he didn't even look at me. :(

Also, there were a few yard sales in my neighbourhood yesterday! I suggested to my mum that we pop by in the early morning, to get there before the crowds, but she only decided to go at around 2, an hour before they were set to close. And when we got there, there was only one left open. I did get some cool stuff, though: a Mrs Pollifax book, with a quote by Dame Angela Lansbury from Murder, She Wrote on the back, a little baby lamp-shaped candle holder, two maple leaf candle holders, and a bracelet, and my mother got two little baby model horses. And all for $6! So yeah, it's been a decent weekend.

Anyways, that's about all that I'm going to talk about for right now. I'll talk to y'all next time!



<-- Newer posts -- Older posts -->